More about that unfriending; my full length response

Despite suggesting that I was going to cool it with the political posts because of the estrangement it is causing with certain friends, I do have something more to say about it. I was offended at being called out on someone else’s wall; at least that’s how I felt. He tagged me in his post that included a video where somebody on a panel was going on at length about it being irrelevant that the majority of muslims were peace loving, because it only takes a few to do a lot of damage. There was also a handy Nazi Germany analogy thrown in for good measure (as in the majority of Germans were peaceful, but still went along with the Nazi plan). While those kinds of statements are red meat for people of his political persuasion, analogies are always dubious, at best. That includes when I use them.

I responded very tersely and coldly by telling him not to tag me in his posts like that. He responded by indicating that I could dish it out but not take it. I replied back that I already knew his opinion and that that wasn’t the first time somebody tagged me with that video.

A couple hours later, I cooled off and began typing a fuller response. Only when I was about to post it to his thread did I discover that he had unfriended me. And that did bum me out, although I wonder if that’s simply for the best because going on about it simply makes everyone mad. I did send him private message apologizing for my terseness. We’ll have to see how things are the next time I run into him in person.

But below is the full original response I had typed up that I’m going to go ahead and share, because it does reflect my response to the same sentiment I’m currently seeing on social media, which goes beyond being uncomfortable with letting any Syrian refugees into our country and onto the larger issue of how a lot of Americans view muslims in general:

I apologize that my initial response was terse. I’ve had this argument many times before, and wasn’t in any mood revisit, because it almost always immediately goes in circles. Also, calling me out like that on your wall doesn’t sit well with me. I’ve voiced my opinion on my wall many times, but as far as I can remember I’ve rarely if ever called someone out by name like that.

As far as that video, I am compelled to say something, because not responding plays into what I think is your position that I can dish it out but not take it. So…as much as I can make out from the video, that woman’s point is that it doesn’t matter if the majority of muslims are peace loving because it only takes a few to wreak havoc? Something about a comparison to Nazis in there, too?

And that argument justifies…what? That we have to view all muslims as potential fifth columnists? And what does that mean? Where does the next logical step take us from there? I don’t really get it. But you know what? You are, in fact, correct. It doesn’t take a lot of people to wreak havoc. Like how it only took 1 white guy to kill 9 black people at that church in Columbia, South Carolina this summer…or how it took only one white guy to kill 12 people and injure 70 people in the Aurora movie theater…or how it only took one other white guy to shoot up all of those sorority girls in California…or how yet another white guy all by himself murdered 20 children at Sandy Hook…and let’s not forget how it only took three white guys to conspire to blow up a federal building in Oklahoma City that killed 168 people and injured 600. I mean, really! Fucking white guys, right?

And, btw, that Nazi Germany comparison is specious because that was a homogenous country whose people spoke the same language under the control of a single government, while the Muslim world comprises dozens of nations with peoples of various ethnicities speaking several languages, and are not under one single government, but are indeed often oppressed to the point that they’re simply not able to speak out. But what’s the use of going on? I’m not going to change your mind and you’re not going to change mine.

But you should be content knowing that it seems that public opinion is swinging more towards your side as a result of Paris and that the prospect of a “President-elect Trump” a year from now just increased exponentially. Though, you should also realize that pursuing a policy of suspicion and hostility towards all muslims plays right into ISIS’ hands, because that’s really what they’re after when they attack western cities and civilians; they want the backlash against all muslims to drive them all into their protection and control.

That was the end of my response to him, that I wasn’t able to post because I had been unfriended. But I do have one more thing to say on the issue: For everybody out there who’s suggesting that it doesn’t matter that the majority of muslims are peaceful because of a few assholes who ruin it for all of them…try switching out the word “black” for “muslim”.

Leave a Reply

